What's wrong with the kiss, boy?

Joined 2003
Paid Member
Do you have a non-AJ amp to try? Random I know...and I'm no grounding expert. AJ and Iron is super nice though—My AJ isn't quiet however. And I've tried a lot of things to make it so....Noise went up a hair with Iron Pre for some reason, and Iron Pre alone was quiet. Inputs shorted—headphones on the outputs—stethoscope style (Don't fire it up with headphones on your ears!).

@Russellc and Dennis re gain settings: We preferred 6db. 12db was fine—seemed better at 6db though—something about "more clarity, less crunch", feelings mostly, but audible we felt. HOWEVER. This was with M2X... Iron + Iron. On my list is to try it with the F5. I'm feeling that could be a winner.

I've listened to it with M2 and Aleph J Quite a bit, lately have been really liking it with BA3.

Russellc

Official Court Jester
Joined 2003
Paid Member
A few more checks. Still on single board powered up only.

Psu is 14.98 +/-
Pin 2 is 0.0mV

I removed the jumpers / bypasses I installed for cinemags and used 12db jumpers. Still hums. Shorting an input silences that channel. Other channel still hums.

try routing your input twisted pair directly to buffer input

hot to end of R28, gnd to central GND point

Joined 2018
Paid Member
Still humming into R28 hot side and straight to ground.

I'm poking around the transformer traces.

Pin 1 goes to: J2&3, C3&4, E2 Appears OK
Output - J5, C11, E5 Appears OK

Pin 3 goes to: J1, C5, E1 Should it be C2 instead of C5?
Ground: J4, C2, E3 Should it be C5 instead of C2?
Does the swap of C2/C5 really matter? Is it P1:S1 / P2: S2 for Jensen and Edcor P2: S1 / P1:S2 for Cinemag? Does this matter?

I can't find a trace for the connection on the schematic from Pin 3 / J1 (Primary 1) to J8 (Secondary 2). That's the jumper added. It appears this won't work for Jensen, Edcor, or Cinemag. Is that true?

Joined 2018
Paid Member