Playing With Panasonic Strain Gauge Cartridges (And A Dedicated Phono Stage)

Sorry I didnt wanted to offend you in anyway! I just stated my findings but I am always very open for other opinions and suggestions to try out! I just found a pcb from your SG phono is it available for sale? I would like to try out if possible....:) Its not that I am not satisfied with my simple approach I am open for new ideas always! !!!!!!!!

Fellows have a nice day and weekend...
;)

I can't say I agree with much of anything you've stated in your post. It's quite easy to determine the relative merits of two devices intended for the same purpose through comparative listening and measurements.

You are of course entitled to your opinion and to even post a dissenting viewpoint.

While I am somewhat swayed by subjective considerations since foolishly I still play [with] vinyl (admittedly the stupidest existing and most irrational format for music reproduction that is still extant) I am a rational designer who believes that measurements while they don't necessarily tell the whole story are useful to help get to the truth.

I do wonder how much of the thread you actually bothered to read before airing your viewpoint here. Had you read it you would have perhaps realized that quite a lot of experimentation, measurement, and even listening went into the design of the pre-amp discussed here.

As a point of reference I have owned several relatively high end LOMC cartridges and still own an Ortofon Windfeld and an Ortofon SPU A95.

I thought the SG had some interesting performance benefits over conventional MC cartridges including better sound stage presentation, low level detail, and imaging, but the tonal balance was very wrong and to me intolerable for more than a few minutes.