Aleph-X builder's thread.

Joined 2003
Paid Member
Since your bias is correct, offset both absolute and relative is within range, I would suspect that the fault lies within the drive portion of the circuit. Look for unmatched feedback or ac gain.
Distortion is apparrent in all three of your traces above but becomes obvious at the higher power levels.

Joined 2003
Paid Member
LTP = Long Tailed Pair. What ZEN is pointing at is that the current should be measured on the FETS in the LTP. If the current is too low, the capacitance presented by the output devices would attenuate the high frequecy. The attenuation would get worse as the frequecy increases.
Could you point me to the correct schematic for the "Green" boards. It has been several years since I built my x100's. (Like in 2004).

IIRC Mine is built with IRP244's

LTP = Long Tailed Pair. What ZEN is pointing at is that the current should be measured on the FETS in the LTP.

I'm no novice but how do I measure this?

Could you point me to the correct schematic for the "Green" boards. It has been several years since I built my x100's. (Like in 2004).

I use the boards used here

Aleph-X 100w Amplifier Construction Notes

Schematic
http://www.facstaff.bucknell.edu/esantane/movies/axschem.jpg

Board
http://www.facstaff.bucknell.edu/esantane/movies/pcb-ext.jpg

Joined 2003
Paid Member
Thanks for the link to the schematic. My start of this build was way back on post #16.
You need to know (measure) the equivalent resistance of R24 with R26 and V2. Then measure the voltage drop across them and for grins measure across D1. The current is calculated using OHM's law. D1 sets up the voltage reference for the CCS FET Q6 and should be different by a couple of volts. The difference in volts should be within range of the Vgs spec sheet for the IRF9610. While you are in the area, measure the voltage across R17 which should allow you to calculate the current through the zener D1.