Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Multi-Way Conventional loudspeakers with crossovers

First project - Will this crossover design work?
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th March 2020, 04:13 AM   #1
Mygyth is offline Mygyth
diyAudio Member

Smile First project - Will this crossover design work?

Hi everyone, this is my first post, and my first project. Please be patient with my newb questions.

First up, sorry if this is posted in the wrong forum, please let me know where to post it if so.

So i have no experience at all in speaker design or building, and only middling experience in electronics. However, ive been interested in taking on a project for a long time and have been watching youtube vids/collecting gear like soldering iron etc for about a year now.

A few weeks back, i found a retro style radio for sale at a garage sale. I decided to make this my first project. This is intended to be a bluetooth speaker system for my workshed. I want it to have bluetooth radio and AUX functionality with a remote control. So I stripped out the old electronics, and cleaned up the shell. (cleaner than whats shown in this pic anyway)

Click the image to open in full size.

I bought a bluetooth decoder with FM, Aux and USB functionality on ebay.

I then went to do the quick job of making some speakers for it.... Oh bless past my innocence.... 3 weeks later, countless hours on youtube, a few tutorials and 3 programs later, i have this:

Now, like i said, i have zero experience, and am just learning what i can on the fly. But, i think if ive understood everything correctly, what i have here should work? I figured id hop on here and ask you guys what your opinion was before i fork out several hundred dollars on making it happen.