ACA amp with premium parts

Hi Stanislav
maybe you have other parts. my datasheet for both show this. both are from IR.
chris

Attachments

• IRFP44NPBf_International rectifier.JPG
    IRFP44NPBf_International rectifier.JPG
    41.1 KB · Views: 505
  • IRFP150_International rectifier.JPG
    IRFP150_International rectifier.JPG
    59.7 KB · Views: 498
Hi

please look carefully on your solder joints. the are not ok. ---> resolder every component. e.g. the resistor at the Gate of the right MOSFET in the bottom pic.

Blocked

chris
I think I found the issue.
I have replaced R12 with 90.9 ohm instead of 90.9 k ohm.

There were no soldering issues with the board components joints, as they were working properly before I exchanged them.

I picked up a couple ACA kits and waiting on the chassis'. I've been through this thread and was looking for opinion. I'm a complete rookie. Wondering if its worth sourcing and building with the premium parts (surprisingly inexpensive) given that I have no experience in these things. I am counting on the step by step instructions provided to get them built. Thoughts?

6L6

Joined 2010
Paid Member
This design is very consistent in sound with regards to parts, good parts from any first-tier supplier (Mouser, DigiKey, etc...) and it will work and sound great. :yes:

Which is to say, the parts in the kit are perfect. Changing things when you have no idea what they do is essentially an exercise in spending money that’s not needed nor will make a difference.

This design is very consistent in sound with regards to parts, good parts from any first-tier supplier (Mouser, DigiKey, etc...) and it will work and sound great. :yes:

Which is to say, the parts in the kit are perfect. Changing things when you have no idea what they do is essentially an exercise in spending money that’s not needed nor will make a difference.

Great advice and really where I was leaning. Those rabbit holes are hard to avoid in this hobby.