Fast, fun, Inexpensive OB project

No Baffle no DSP

Hello there, newbie here. I have seen some examples of no baffle designs out there. Just raw drivers 'suspended in space'. They make use of DSP and are very expensive... But if I want to try the no baffle approach with the Manzanita (no DSP) what components are needed? Would the x-over be too complex to be practical? Thanks.

A couple of comments based on a past design

SRG You have asked an interesting question. I did some experimentation loosely similar to your posted description.
Yes, one can cobble together a passive baffle-less system that can work surprisingly well up to a point. It comes down to money, effort and mechanical - cosmetic compromises.
On the cheap, and after rummaging around my parts bin(s) I combined a pair of Goldwood 1852 18” woofers, an Eminence Beta 12 CX and JBL TI-220. The biggest challenge for me was how to physically hold these components together with out a baffle plate. Ended up rigging (literally) the components to a mast of sorts. Working around the T!-220 compression driver took a bit of trial and error.
As I have designed and built umpteen OB designs, the crossover was a breeze. The overall system efficiency, when set up to play flat down to roughly 50 HZ ended up around 86 db/watt. Max clean output at 50 Hz is limited to around 100 db @ 1 meter or so due to the limited Xmax available from the Goldwood 18’s. The system had usable bass into the upper 30’s.
Crossed over to the Emi Beta 12 around 200 Hz and from the Beta 12 to TI-220 around 1,500 Hz. The crossover component values and layout are other worldly as one would expect. Nothing like a traditional 3 way found in a enclosure type of design.