ES9038Q2M Board

Mod these or upgrade to new boards?

The boards used in the thread sound awful to me in stock form. They are very cheaply designed. The one good thing about them for modding is the PCB layout. The ground plane on the solder side of the board is nearly continuous and unbroken. Close enough anyway. That makes doing a decent job of several good mods possible.
I have no experience with the boards in this very long thread.
I do own the following two Chinese "canned" units based on the 9038q2m.
With the hifime unit, I am using an external USB isolator power unit. With the Breeze unit, a fair-quality external 8v SMPS wall wart is used.
Are these canned DACs worth modding, or should one start over with one of the boards in this thread ? (link to the specific board).
===========
Hifime S2 USB and SPDIF DAC (Sabre ES9038q2m); USD89.00
IMG_0089_recompress.JPG

IMG_20190412_124903_recompress-scaled.jpg

======

eBay "Breeze Audio" from chinaaudiostore: -- $56.00 "Mini ES9038Q2M DAC HiFi XMOS XU208 USB ES9038 DSD DAC Soundcard Headphone Out"

s-l1600.jpg

s-l1600.jpg

s-l1600.jpg

Hi, if anyone interested, I can provide gerber data / schematics / BOM for an IV stage based on the experience gathered in this group. It can be used as an IV addon for the usual ES9038Q2M boards, and it contains also a few low noise LDOs for every auxiliary functions. As I designed it, I realized, that the only thing I need from the original board is the ES9038Q2M chip itself... So finally I also placed the footprint of this chip as well on this PCB...

Only drawback of this design, that it's not DIY friendly: only for experienced guys with good soldering experience. (SMD only).

It's a small PCB, with 4 layers, 63x92mm, so, quite cheap to produce at JLCPCB (I paid 7$ + postage for 5 pieces).