Need Advice for a Weird Project

Hello all, first time poster here. A little background on me and my project. I am a wildlife biologist that is currently pursuing bioacoustic projects. The specific project I currently need help with is night flight calls given by migrating birds. These sounds are are usually concentrated in the 5-8khz range with outliers on both sides (black-billed cuckoos are very low and some sparrows are over 10khz).

My setup uses a raspberry pi with a sound blaster play 3 audio interface as the recorder. I am using the POM-2730L-HD-R (http://www.puiaudio.com/pdf/POM-2730L-HD-R.pdf) and use the recommended drive circuit in the datasheet. I currently use a preamp designed by old bird, Inc (Old Bird 21c), but they are expensive and hard to get as a stand alone item. I don't know much about how that preamp works other than it runs off 9-12V single supply and passes on 5V to an electret element. The preamp is balanced too. My setup runs off a 12V solar powered battery that powers the raspberry pi. The raspberry pi sends out 5V to a 9V step up converter that then powers the preamp.

I am in need of a preamp design that I can make at home (have some skill in putting components together) or purchase one that would suite my needs. What I am looking for is an ultra low-noise, balanced, linear, single supply (12 volt preferably) electret preamp that I can build myself or buy. I would prefer it have set gain levels to limit variables when setting up the "Night Flight Call Stations". Gain could then be set using the audio interface.

Any advice and criticisms are greatly appreciated.

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
Play!3 sound card page
manual?