Martin Logan Aerius i crossover upgrades

Hey Guys

So the other day I picked up a used set of Martin Logan Aerius i ESL's in great shape and I have been really enjoying them. I was thinking it might be a good idea to think about replacing the 20+ year old electrolytic caps in the crossovers with something better such as Clarity caps. I'm fairly new to this but know this is popular with conventional style loudspeakers. I'm comfortable working through parts values but I'm not really 100% sure where my time and money would be best spent so I'm here to take in any info offered.

Martin Logan has proved to be extremely helpful and provided me with crossover schematics and a detailed electrical print on the whole speaker. I have not opened these up yet to take a look for myself but plan on doing so this week at some point. I've attached all the electrical info for everyone's viewing pleasure.

PXL_20220130_145104329.jpg

Martin-Logan Aerius i crossover schematic 4WR-page-001 (1).jpg

Martin Logan MLPS104 Aerius_i 240V-page-001.jpg

Joined 2011
If you have a DVM capable of measuring low ohms accurately, check all the crossover resistor values.
If not, leave them alone unless they are obviously defective. Don't mess with the HV power supply at all.
Make sure your proposed replacement capacitors can physically fit properly on the boards before buying them.

For the woofer, replace capacitors CX4 and CX5. Check the value of resistor RX8.

For the panel, Replace capacitors CX1, 2, 3. Check the values of resistors RX1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6.

Last edited:
If you have a DVM capable of measuring low ohms accurately, check all the crossover resistor values.
If not, leave them alone unless they are obviously defective. Don't mess with the HV power supply at all.
Make sure your proposed replacement capacitors can physically fit properly on the boards before buying them.

For the woofer, replace capacitors CX4 and CX5. Check the value of resistor RX8.