• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

KT88 Valve Tube Amplifier Single-ended Amp DIY KIT from China. No instructions!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All!

So a good friend of mine bought himself a valve amplifier kit, something i have never done before, he wants some help and i like a challenge

I have restored and rebuilt a leak stereo 20, leak tl12 plus, quad ii etc but never done point to point amplifier build or from scratch.

This is the kit:

KT88 Valve Tube Amplifier Single-ended Class A Stereo HiFi Amp DIY KIT 16W+16W | eBay

And the instructions it came with are rubbish!

9G7zrBO.jpg

I mean seriously how lacking is this?

HGPT1JL.jpg

I decided to make a start by putting on what i could.

eZza82i.jpg

z2nXhtx.jpg

z2nXhtx.jpg

ejTm9MF.jpg

Now because of the lack of instructions i decided to email the seller, this is what he sent me for help, pictures of it built!

wkX1vMh.jpg

pyU8Z45.jpg

KiaiAbW.jpg

Q2EYMsh.jpg

Now don't get me wrong this kind of helps but when i tried to match this to the circuit diagram theres a few things missing.

list of parts

NiVnkF6.jpg

wYqaKde.jpg

My attempt of putting some instructions together to show where and how the components solder in.

53596S1.jpg

Where i got stuck is the input/preamp stages 6n8p, It shows 8 pins being used in the diagram and a jumper wire being used, but this isnt in the circuit digram, the pin arrangement seem odd like it's not in order.

Also finding where all the earthing/ground wires are and go, there are so many!

can someone with experience tell me if the pictures of the built amplifier match the circuit diagram? And should i try to match and copy what i see in the built pictures?