Compact Bookshelf Build - Options / Recommendations

Hi!

Hoping some collective experience may help here. I've looked over every DIY Kit / Design I can find and haven't really found exactly what I'm after. Maybe my Google-Fu is becoming weak.

Essentially I'm after a bookshelf speaker that will work in my space, constraints being;

1. Depth. I'm hoping for 250mm max.
2. Sound good with a wall close behind. So I'm guessing Sealed or Front ported is best
3. Not too entry level. Want a fairly high end sound despite the spatial constraints
4. Be a Kit or pretty thorough plans, I have no speaker design knowledge, but can happily work timber, solder etc.

The closest I've found so far is the Purifi-6R (link #1) design from Troels, and the "Bijou" (link #2) one using Visaton drivers.

Purifi 6R - http://www.troelsgravesen.dk/Purifi-6R.htm
Bijou - https://www.soundlabsgroup.com.au/p/V-5889-Bijou-170/Bijou+170+Speaker+Kit

I don't know about specific drivers etc, and a lot of builds its hard to find people who have done them or any real review on it. So its going in blind for most part.

Be in 4.5x4.5m room, sitting about 3m from them at a guess. Don't need crazy sub-bass, whatever comes out of a decent 5-6" would be fine. And in Australia, I think I can get most parts locally, if not happy to import.

Thanks for any help!

Ben

Did you see Troels 3WC Corner? Designed for wall placement.

I'm not sure there are many sealed published designs, though any design can be made sealed, then you'd be best off with a sub to fill out the low end.

Two designs I like the look of are Goran's Classic and Pida's recently introduced ClassIllu -- you could write him on cabinet design and cost for the plans.

Last edited: