The food thread

When it comes to knives in the kitchen I have simple tastes.

I use a 4" and a 6" Wüsthof meat slicer for everything, both of which I keep razor sharp at all times.

No idea how people injure themselves with avocados, must be either stupidity, carelessness or both.

Brainfreeze!

I got the blade lengths completely wrong, should read 6.5" and 9".

Joined 2011
Paid Member
I love 10 inch chef's knives, and use my Messermeister and my Shun ten inchers regularly. Those, and the Glestain vegetable slicer, do most of the work when I'm in the kitchen.

link to Shun

link to Glestain

(you can find MUCH better pricing if you search the web for 45 minutes -- but these have the best photos)

BTW I'm a sharpening hobbyist too, so these knives provide two sources of pleasure: using them, and resharpening them. If you like sharpening you will LOVE the Knives Plus Strop Block (link 3)

_

Last edited:
My paring knives and 10" chef are workhorse Forschners; the santoku is this, which is nothing crazy esoteric: Masutani VG1 Santoku 170mm

Although every time my mom has used the latter she loves how it fits her, so either I have an easy Christmas gift or I'm going to be doing a swap with their Shun santoku. :)

I strop on old newspaper using a pulling stroke. The paper is sufficiently abrasive that everything polishes up handsomely.