LTSpice FFT simulation settings and inconsistent results.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
How do you go about setting up the FFT settings when wanting to do a distortion test ? I am a total newbie to all of this.

Really trying to understand this and how all this would translate into testing a real design (an amp say). Until I can figure this out and make some sense of it all it seems all the results are wide open to interpretation and the actual settings used.

So the starting point is the circuit shown, which is about the simplest possible. An AC voltage source with two series connected 1k resistors across it. The junction of the resistors is Vout.

The settings I have used are shown. The transient analysis is set to run for 10ms. The frequency is 1Khz over 10 cycles.

The FFT result is shown.

I then alter the run time to 100ms and the number of cycles to 100. I set the FFT run to "look at" 0 to 10ms (the same period as in the first run).

The FFT result is now totally different. Why ?

Also what are the peaks beginining at 100Khz. When expanded the first is a double peak of approx 101.4 Khz and 103.4Khz. What causes these ?

The second run with the 100ms run time has a "first" harmonic peak at 3Khz.

Also why is the baseline (noisefloor ??) different ?

Attachments

• FFT Test Circuit.GIF
    FFT Test Circuit.GIF
    33.7 KB · Views: 970
  • FFT Transient Settings.GIF
    FFT Transient Settings.GIF
    16.9 KB · Views: 845
  • FFT Voltage Source Settings.GIF
    FFT Voltage Source Settings.GIF
    29.7 KB · Views: 835
  • FFT Settings.GIF
    FFT Settings.GIF
    27.8 KB · Views: 838
  • FFT Spectrum Result.GIF
    FFT Spectrum Result.GIF
    22.7 KB · Views: 903
  • FFT Second Run.GIF
    FFT Second Run.GIF
    24.4 KB · Views: 436