Modified CBT24

I have long been looking at the Don Keeles CBT36 line arrays, but was intimidated by the insane amount of tweeters. Recently I happened to search for his work again when discussing speakers with a friend and noticed that now an other version exist, CBT24, that looks to be a somewhat easier build.

The kit has been discontinued by parts-express: Epique CBT24K Line Array Speaker Kit Pair

But inspired by Jim Griffin here I have started building my own (duplicating his build).

I have started cutting out parts for the enclosure (going to build the enclosures before blowing $1k on drivers :p ).

Image of the routing.

More images as the build progresses :)

I am a bit new to the world off full-ish range speakers that benefit from a subwoofer. If someone has any tips for a matching subwoofer build I would be happy for advices :) I will probably order parts from here: Audio Components

I have looked at these subwoofers: Seas E0026-08S W26FX001 and Dayton Audio RSS315HFA-8 12", should I have one or two subwoofer boxes?

Last edited:
Great news to learn about your decision. You will be pleased with the results.

You are making good progress on the enclosure images.

Concerning the subwoofer one or two decision: I currently use two 12" diameter powered subwoofers with my arrays. The subs are spaced alongside each array. Your choice is more a factor of the size of your listening room and how even you wish to have bass coverage within the room. My listening room is large in both area and volume so essentially two subs serve to provide excellent sound.

When I first finished my arrays I used two 10" passive subs (CSS SX-10 drivers) with an old Yamaha R-9 stereo receiver to amplify those subs. This receiver provides plenty of power and it has EQ controls which permits bass boosting as you please. These subs are mounted in 1 cubic foot sealed boxes.