The New Hypex Fusion Plate amps

Class D amps literally used to be called "digital" amps. AFAIK, (though I'm not an amp expert) they always had a digital front end (controller) At least until recently.

I didn't realize that there are now analog-controlled D amps. (And theoreticaly they sound better.)

There's some interesting info here, though I admit I don't understand all of it.
A relevant paragraph:

"Digital Class D amplifiers directly convert PCM digital signals into amplified analog output to drive a speaker; what is sometimes referred to as a ‘power DAC’. In contrast, an Analog Class D amplifier uses digital techniques to amplify a small analog input voltage into the power required to drive a loudspeaker. "
----------

What confuses me is, why would an amp with AES input not just use a digital controller? I'm sure I'm completely not understanding the technology, :D but I'd love to understand this at a basic level.

closed account
Joined 2007
I think what jccart is asking is: (apologies if I'm wrong)
Does the AES input bypass the digital converter, or does the analog input bypass the converter?

I'd like to know as well.

Being a class D amp, I would assume that the AES input goes directly to the amp's circuit, whereas the analog input has to be A-D converted first.
- And thus the AES connection has the potential to sound slightly better. (Especially if your processor has an AES output.)

But I'm guessing. Does anyone know?

The documentation states indeed that if you use analog inputs the signal has to be digitised before it goes to the DSP.

"OK thanks what I wanted to do was use the fusion amp for a sub then use the analogue output to an active monitor without going through an adc stage."