Complete novice alert! *don't read if easily annoyed by stupid questions*

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Pin 4 is the negative supply and so should have your negative 28 volts present.

Pin 8 is the mute pin and should as mentioned earlier be configured in accordance with the recommended components. As a minimum pin 8 should connect to pin 4 via a resistor the value of which is chosen to allow at least 0.5 milliamps to flow. This disables the mute.

I don't know how the LM3886 handles a direct connection there and what sort of current may flow. I suspect the chip will be OK (as in not damaged) but it definitely isn't recommended.

Maybe others who have used the chip would be able to comment on whether it might have caused a problem.

When you switch on and if a speaker is connected at this time can you hear any noise or thump or anything at all from the speaker?

Attachments

• Screenshot 2020-10-15 175400.jpg
    Screenshot 2020-10-15 175400.jpg
    49.5 KB · Views: 143
  • Screenshot 2020-10-15 175509.jpg
    Screenshot 2020-10-15 175509.jpg
    68.6 KB · Views: 140
  • Screenshot 2020-10-15 175543.jpg
    Screenshot 2020-10-15 175543.jpg
    197.8 KB · Views: 151
Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
I would have expected some kind of audible noise of some sort... which kind of suggests either a basic wiring issue or a problem with the mute pin.

I'm afraid I don't know whether a problem with the mute would allow any noise at all to be heard or not.

It is hard to know what to advise for the best here. If you do rehash things then please connect the mute pin as per the data sheet and not just directly to the negative supply.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member