Complete novice alert! *don't read if easily annoyed by stupid questions*

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
The yellow/blue stay joined and become the 'zero' or 0V ground connection as shown here (generic circuit off the web).

The red and green go to the rectifier and it doesn't matter which one goes where.

Attachments

• Screenshot 2020-10-02 105957.jpg
    Screenshot 2020-10-02 105957.jpg
    49.5 KB · Views: 221
Yes, thank you I know that. I am referring to my original post and the photograph where I have said that I am stuck. I need to know where to physically connect from the connectors soldered to my board in the places that are ringed on the photo to where they should be connected to next.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
I think we need a bit more info from yourself here :) I can't see anything 'ringed' in the image on post #1. That is your actual amplifier is it? and not just a picture off the web.

Lets begin with the power supply and transformer. Is that wired up correctly now to the rectifier and reservoir caps?

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
It still all sounds a bit of a mystery tbh.

Pin 1 of the LM3886 and pin 5 of the chip should be joined and these then go to the positive rail which will be the plus end of one of those large caps.

So looking at your picture the + end of the cap furthest from us would be that point. I can't understand why you would have pin 1 coming out to a connector.

Pin 4 of the chip should go to the negative rail and that looks like it would be the negative pin of the cap nearest to us.

Pin 10 is the non inverting input of the chip and is where the audio is applied but it should not just be a connection direct to the pin. This input should be tied to ground (the 0V point) via a resistor, typically 22k.

PRR posted a diagram in post #7 which I think is from the site you linked to. The configuration of the chip should be as in that diagram. You can see pin 10 goes to a volume control in that image.