Active filter plus LM3886 - one board

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disabled Account
Joined 2007
Hi,
I have been working for the past several months on a new three-way speaker system that will be powered by 6 LM3886 amps.
Originally I thought it would be best to put the active filters for each channel on a separate board, then do 6 amp boards.
Recently I changed my mind and decided to incorporate an input buffer, a high and a low pass filter, an output buffer with volume control and finally the amp circuit all on the same board.
The reasoning behind this is that It will be cheaper to have 6 small boards produced that are identical, and it makes things much neater.
Components can be left out of the portions of the board that will not be used. Only the high pass component need go in the high pass board, and so on.

I have adapted Rod Elliot's P09 24 dB/octave filter and used his implementation of the LM3886 (P19). I have come up with the following schematics, the first is the filter section.
Thoughts and comments either positive or negative are welcome. I want this to work right the first time.:)

Attachments

• filter sec.gif
    filter sec.gif
    37.3 KB · Views: 6,131
Hi,
if you can arrange the components R3 & 4 and C2 & 3 to fit a DIL header and arrange the PCB with a DIL socket, you can swap out different headers with alternative frequencies and or Q values.
You can also swap C for R in each header by simply turning it around to convert from low pass to high pass (but this screws up the Q if you go for unity gain filter topology). If you go for equal value S&K then Q is set by the opamp gain and the Rs&Cs control just the frequency and not the Q.

This arrangement is very easy to change and saves a lot of PCB space by avoiding the need for the extra dual opamp and it's components.