Self contained electric acoustic u-bass

I might get around to posting a recording, though I'm not sure I want to embarrass myself - I'm no bass expert like this

You can see why I put the speaker on the back if you compare my uke aesthetically with my friend's uke that I got the inspiration from, see pictures attached. I wanted mine to not be obviously electric...and I knew that the sound would be heard from the front no problem, since the low frequencies are not really directional at all.

Champion.
I am SO impressed. Had this idea and chatted about it for years. Friends laughed it off, put it down. Didn't have the focus to persist. Bought a coupel of battery powered bass amps. Experimented with feedback by shoving them in the body. You did it. Congrats...Well F done!! Champ!

Many thanks for all the effusive praise, very gratifying! It was fun to try, and to be fair, I was copying my friend's build, and he is an inventor with patents to his name, and a very smart engineer, so with his advice on what he thought he did wrong, it was pretty easy...

Since I am in lock-down, and working from home, I had a little time to dash off some slightly embarrassing recordings that hopefully give an idea of how the uke sounds. I wanted to upload wavs, but the files were too big, so I had to make 320kbps mp3s instead unfortunately. Also, these were recorded with my Sennheiser wireless headset from my work desk into Audacity, so not the most ideal set up, but hopefully it gives an idea...

Attachments

• recordings.zip
    2.6 MB · Views: 59
When you are all done laughing at me "playing" the bass...

I'd be interested to know if it sounds like people imagined, or better, or worse? Any suggestions for a better recording that don't involve me shelling out for loads of kit? I was going to try a recording with my webcam when I next have it on my PC (it's usually in the other room, and yes, I really am that lazy...).

...me "playing" the bass...
Thanks for posting the clips!