• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Monoblock redesign help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,

About 8 or so years ago I built a pair of monoblocks as my first tube projects and have been playing around with tube gear off and on since then. I’m still a newbie as far as designing my own circuits but not a newbie following a schematic or making some modifications to existing designs.

Back then I’ve settled on the attached schematic for some reason as my first project not knowing too much about what to look for, for a proper hi-fi amp.
I since then realize that this is more of a guitar circuit.

Since then, over this past summer, I re-chassied them and modified the circuit for greatly improved sound with the help of you guys. The schematic attached includes the modifications.

They actually sound pretty good I think but I’m sure they could be improved.

What I’m looking to do is further modify the circuit or better yet make a newly designed circuit more suitable for hi-fi. I would however like to retain the chassis, power tubes and all 3 transformers. I’m not opposed to ditching the choke if need be. I also have no problem swapping out the Ef86 or phase inverter. This goes without saying that I have no problem making a new circuit board and buying all new components except for the aforementioned.

Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction to a suitable circuit while retaining the power tubes and transformers? Or collaborate to help me design a suitable circuit around these components?

I’m currently using these to drive Elac F6.2’s for now but definitely want to upgrade them down the road.

Thank you!

Attachments