Hiraga 30Watt build… can't get it right (help!)

Hi Guys,

Im doing my first build of a Hiraga 30 Watt class a . I put all components right and checked them all, but appearently my powerstage does not go 1,5 amps current.
I did some measurements, maybe you can give me some direction where to look / what might be wrong?

There is no load, input shortend, and it does amplifie, all be it crooked class B with a lot of distortion. Im puzzled !

0.jpg

1.jpg

Are the transistors in the final stage (2sc5200 and 2sa1943) properly mounted?
I.e. fully isolated from heatsink using proper mica and (less) goop. Photo appears showing round mica?
Please perform continuity check from collector (middle pin) to bare metal on heatsink.
If there is a short, than that's the problem. While you are at it, measure the drivers as well.

Hope this helps

Tnx, rion, Ill check those triple time. (just did, no shorts) It looks a bit messy indeed, its my first build in 30 years. Im a bit worried about the currents in the separate driver stages. first driver stage: 0.08V on 180 R thats only 0.4 mA ? Second stage , 0.61 V on 1K , thats only 0.6mA to drive the 634 and 1096. ?
And why the 5.3V on the 5200 BE ?

Last edited:
If there is 5.3Vdc on the 5200 Vbe, the amp (feedbackloop) is trying to correct the output to the desired stable setpoint. But it can't manage to do so!. 14/15mV over the E33 resistors yields 42/45mA through the drivers,so the 5200/1943 combo are closed.
Check pinning, continuity, wiring, solderings &c. It's not about shortings.
What dc voltages on both sides of the 300R feedback resistor?
(You did not swap/mirrored accidentally the 5200/1943 on the pcb???)

Tnx guys, good suggestions thanks ! Getting the drivers off the cooling is a good one. Will do that. Furthermore, what antoine said, the 47K had to be lowered. I have them now at 33K and the amp stabelise @ 900mA/35V. (40 C ) But !!!!! I am now running into a new (sortof) problem..

2.jpg