Euphonic Mechanisms in Amplifiers

Joined 2012
Paid Member
In this thread https://hackaday.com/2023/04/04/reshoring-vacuum-tube-manufacturing-one-tube-at-a-time/#respond ,Winston ascribes the "(second-order harmonic distortion from the tube interacting with the inductance of the output transformer)" as the "tube sound" which some find pleasing.

I’m no expert on tube or solid state amp design, but is that described distortion interaction the only likely “euphonic” effect that attracts some people to tube amps; perhaps 300B SET amps, in particular?

At the same time, could the attraction also be largely based on the fact that single-ended tube and solid state amps must all be Class A biased (which otherwise would produce waveform clipping)-and that, perhaps also due little need for negative feedback, might thereby produce a similarly pleasing “warm” sound?

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
It's a can of worms, you'll likely get as many opinions as posts. So I'll jump in with my experience and opinions. ;)

IME what a lot of people call the "warm" sound of tubes isn't coloration at all, but a lack of the normal coloration we hear in Class-AB transistor amps. A coloration that many of us have now gotten so used to, that it seems like the default. But tubes amps have their own problems and not all are smooth or warm. Read some reviews from the golden age of Hi-Fi and many tube amps might be called strident or harsh. I've owned some of those.