♫♪ My little cheap Circlophone© ♫♪

Hi @minek123

I am building my own board and want to use the Cascode implementation for the BJT Circlophone. I know you posted a schematic for the same in one of the previous posts.

1) How does it work, with reference to distortions compared to using 2 Zeners?
1667662652507.png

2) Also is there a difference in working for the CCS shown in the schematic vs the one below this line.
1667662717352.jpeg

Could you or Elvee guide me to the correct one? The idea is to be independent of the supply changes if needed due to some unforeseen reason one being output power transistor availability.

Could Elvee or You explain how the Cascode transistor works? Does it work like a variable voltage-blocking Zener diode? I am pretty new in this discrete amplifier side.

Last edited:
How does it work, with reference to distortions compared to using 2 Zeners?
The same. Theoretically it should be slightly better, but you not gonna see any difference in real life or in a sim.

Also is there a difference in working for the CCS shown in the schematic vs the one below this line.

The 2nd CCS (more complex one) is better - according to Elvee's sims - but I doubt there will be any difference
in real life.

The same. Theoretically it should be slightly better, but you not gonna see any difference in real life or in a sim.

The 2nd CCS (more complex one) is better - according to Elvee's sims - but I doubt there will be any difference
in real life.
Hi @minek123

Thank you for the update on my query. 😊

Is the cascade modification voltage range dependent?

I will be running the circlophone via a 24-0-24 transformer

My configuration :
Output device is MJL21194 and VAS is 3503 also the current sense section is 2N5551.

I second Minek: all of these improvements should bring tangible benefits, but the measured differences are completely insignificant.