The food thread

Joined 2011
Paid Member
5 weeks after planting the heirloom tomato seeds, I transplanted the seedlings which germinated (C. LeHoullier "dense" planting method) from 1.5 inch cells-on-flats, into 4 inch free standing round pots. About 1/3rd of the seedlings had large True Leaves, while the others had cotyledons only, perhaps with a little bump. This is my first attempt and I may not have timed it optimally. About 30 different varieties in total. 1/3rd Dwarf, 1/3rd Cherry, 1/3rd Indeterminate.

Next activity is Tax Day or thereabouts.

In Austria they usually call these Rouladen (meat rolls). Do you put pickles in them? Interesting that the swiss call them "meat-birds", although I guess they are trussed up somewhat like a stuffed bird ;)
I filled them with carrots, celleriac and other veggies, but those ones we get in the butchery are filled with minced meat usually. I have no clue aboth the name Fleischvogel :hypno1:

On the pix you see my version of Kohlrouladen i made a few weeks ago, filled with chopped meat and veggies.

Attachments

• IMG_5957.jpg
    IMG_5957.jpg
    787.1 KB · Views: 105
  • IMG_5958.jpg
    IMG_5958.jpg
    622.2 KB · Views: 94
Joined 2011
Paid Member
Did you ever try Indian River variety of heirloom tomatoes, I've searched for years for the ones my grandmother grew. The foliage had a more intense smell than most heirlooms that I've picked and the fruit ripened to the point that it would never survive commercial shipping. They were also very sweet/sour.

Didn't plant them this year, no. You'll be pleased to know that a big seed supplier in nearby Monterey Calif, offers Indian River seeds for sale: (link #1)

And the grower's / taster's notes on Tatiana's site are quite positive: (link #2). I'll buy some to plant next year, thanks for the tip!

Joined 2011
Paid Member
That could be it, she also had some hybrid of Roma that I'm still looking for..