Go Back   Home > Forums > >

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

RK-Auto200W Amplifer
RK-Auto200W Amplifer
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th February 2021, 08:00 AM   #1
RussellKinder is offline RussellKinder  United States
diyAudio Member

Default RK-AutoBias200 Amplifier

Here's a schematic I've been developing for a couple of months, now. I have not laid out the PCB yet, let alone built one.
[The schematic shown in post #92 is the most recent iteration so far.]

The design goal is a 200W amp with distortion below 0.001% up to 20 kHz. VCCP/VEEP looks like they're going to be +/- 63V unregulated. VCC/VEE will be +/- 70V regulated.

Generated rails from the shunt and series-pass regulators will be
VCCP-5V
VEEP+5V
+15V
-15V

I've made an attempt at EF-triple stabilization, with a thread here: Removing MJE1503x in an Output Triple
but I don't think the final answer to that can be found in sims. I have not drawn the feedback yet, nor the final compensation. In IC op amps, a cap from the top of R8 to GND is sufficient, but a T-miller arrangement here will further linearize the output stage.

OL Gain is very high, and the pole from the output stage will between 10 and 20 MHz.

Output transistor biasing will be adapted from William Chater's bias control circuit from 1988. That's what's in the yellow box. I've detailed my adaptation here:
William Chater's "Bias control for power amplifiers," Revisited

Added, 10 Mar 2020:
My plan is to finish this design, documenting my progress and performance on diyaudio. When the design is complete, and the PCBs are laid out, I will make PCBs available. Gerber files, too. Then I will try to stick around to give advice on building and mods.