New Cherry NDFL amp

Hi Folks, first post from a relative newbie and former lurker, so here goes...hope you can read the circuit....its long, bear with me.

I am actually a switch mode PSU designer who moved into analogue and mixed signal semiconductor sales... it pays more!My background is Linear Tech, Burr Brown, Unitrode, TI but I have always had a hobby of audio dating back to when I was 11 years old...a long time ago now. Now I am selling motors..more on that another day.

I first experimented with nested feedback by putting a 400W MOSFET amp inside the feedback loop of a OPA627. Fixes the DC drift just great...and actually works quite well. Why...the sales director wanted 'more bass'. I reckon he just needed to clean out his ears...

But it got me interested in nested feedback, and I read the Cherry papers. And wished I could remember more of the stuff I learned at college.....that's what sales does to you.

The original objective was, using the Cherry paper (with his permission for hobbist use incidentally), duplicate his results and make a judgement as to the subjective audio quality.
As time went on the project slowly mutated into a 'make it as best you can' then apply NDFL feedback.

The input stage was elaborated to a CFP type in an attempt to achieve best linearity with the minimum additional complication.

The Rush stage was retained but with the inclusion of R21 to limit the maximum stage gain to something sensible...I am a pom after all so good to have a UK circuit in a Monash Univ. paper!

The VAS transistor was chosen as a BF469, to preserve as much HF performance as possible, rather than use a MJE. I appreciate other much better (and easier to obtain) transistors exist now.

Likewise the current source for the VAS stage was elaborated to a cascode. Later this was found very handy as it was modified to dethump the amp at turn on and diodes were added to the supply rails to prevent positive feedback thumping the amp at turn off.