Thor speaker – lots of help needed please!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,

I am looking for advise on a version of Thors that I have built. I will start by saying that I am a Civil Engineer and know absolutely nothing whatsoever about electrical engineering or speaker building. I appreciate there are hundreds of threads on this website on the subject but to be honest, it is difficult to find definite information and as time has gone on, advice seems to have changed.

Firstly, the reason for the project. I have a Cyrus system including a Streamline 2, DAC XP+ and two Stereo 200 amplifiers. I had Dali Ikon 6 speakers for years which I always enjoyed as they were detailed and entertaining, but were too bright for my room, which is unsuitable for a hifi, being a large conservatory with hard glazed and wooden walls/ ceiling with a high apex and a stone floor to top it all off! I bought some PMC 20/24’s and although it solved the bass problem, they just weren’t powerful enough to fill the room and I always felt that the midrange was too quiet when compared to the Dali’s. Therefore, as you do, I came to the very obvious and sensible conclusion to build my own speakers…

So to cut a long story short, I’ve been in the process of building my own version of Thors over the last 10 months and due to the time that it has taken, I have taken bits of information from this forum, knitting it together and ended up with the speakers that I have. Now I look back at the notes I made, mostly on scrap bits of paper, it’s not always immediately apparent why I made certain decisions and finding my way back to the original posts has proved impossible, partially as my research was often undertaken whilst travelling on trains on the way to work etc etc.

Anyway, in summary, I have built the following: