Starting a student project, need some input (chip amp + speaker set)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys. I'm new here and come seeking some wisdom. I am an EE student at Auburn University and our campus IEEE group is looking to start an EE project to teach students more about designing a circuit and then constructing the circuit.

Most of what we get is classes is all "book smarts", so the goal of this is to try and give people some practical knowledge about designing, building, and testing a circuit.

I have had a little experience with amps in the past (I did a bit with tube amps in high school, and built a chip amp based off of a Phillips IC, I don't remember the name anymore) so i suggested building a chip amp as it would be a simple enough project that people could actually use and enjoy. The idea was taken to pretty quickly so now we are doing some reading to try and figure out exactly what we want to do.

We will not start this up until spring semmester, but we want to go ahead and plan out the project and build a few of these amps so that those of us in charge are familiar with the design and will be able to answer questions about it.

Ideally we are looking for a design that is relatively simple, has a low parts count, and won't be too expensive to build ( students will buy their own parts. I guess if a student wants a better quality amp, they can choose to buy better parts, but just for the experience, we want it to be able to be built cheaply), and can be built on a pcb easily.

The LM3875 seems to be a very popular choice, along with the LM3886, but I am unsure what would be the best choice for us.

We are also considering giving kids the option of building a speaker set to go along with the amp. If we do, it will probably be zigma hornets or something similar that is easy to build and small enough for a dorm room.

Thanks guys, any input is appreciated.

Hi!