Why do some recommend high sensitivity drivers when low volume listening is the goal

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Firstly, I'm no expert. Just trying to learn.

Over the years browsing various hifi forums I have often seen people (including myself) ask for direction on a system (driver or loudspeaker system, diy or commercial off the shelf) that plays well at low volumes. Presumably and at least in my case, playing at low volumes only is a pre requisite as I share my living quarters and not musical tastes with others. Sleeping patterns is of course another story.

I've seen this answered on so many occasions with the advice to seek a high sensitivity system.

Now, from my early exploration into educating myself with the theory, doesn't the relative sensitivity of systems mainly relate to how much power is demanded from the amp for a constant listening volume? So, has little or nothing to do with low volume listening?

My really basic answer to this query today would be to seek a system with perhaps an increased bass range sensitivity relative to the mids/highs. Reason being due to the lack of sensitivity of the ear to bass frequencies at lower volumes.

Am I on the right track?

Joined 2011
I think many want to use very low power amps, roughly 1W or so, because
they can sound better due to fewer circuit compromises to get high power.

Speakers have to be voiced to sound "right" at a certain volume level
because of the way the ear works, especially in the bass range.
A high power amp would have to be used in the bottom of its range
with a high efficiency speaker, where it may not have the best sound.

Last edited:
Joined 2011
I'm aware of the loudness control on amps and its purpose.

One type of circuit is a loudness switch that uses a tap on the volume control.
Another type is a separate loudness control knob that is used in conjunction with the volume control.