• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

SET build recommendation

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disabled Account
Joined 2011
I sold my tube amp and want to build an SET to go with my Klipsch La Scalas. I used to be an electronics tech and can build from a schematic, and have done so many times.

Not looking for a kit, just a schematic that works. I thought of the Decware Zen but the schematics I found on line just don't look right.

There are plenty of good SET designs out there, can anyone here recommend one?

Thanks

with that kind of sensitivity you got a lotta options.

this one: my CELLINI triode amp

was supposed to be a ‘starter’ amp, my first tube amp. It used not so fancy parts, a bit of a tinkerer’s odd ball amp. But today, more than a decade later, it’s still my best tube amp.

You’ll get suggestions for way better amps, much more popular etc. but I thought I’d throw this one out because it is one of those under-estimated pleasant surprises. Not so long ago it went up against a SIT amp into a pair of MA Alpair 10.3’s and came out remarkably well.

Last edited:
Klipsch La Scala speakers are 105 dB. sensitive. The 2 WPC triode wired "12" W. multi-grid power tubes yield is plenty.

What might be an issue is damping factor. I'm thinking a linear (unbypassed cathode bias resistor) EF86 pentode voltage amplifier DC coupled to a ZVN0545A source follower (for isolation from O/P tube CMiller) cap. coupled to the "final". Add "plate to plate" short loop NFB, for increased damping factor. Definitely use good quality O/P "iron".