Problems associated with a capacitive load

diyAudio Moderator
Joined 2008
Paid Member
The speaker crowd have been discussing the merits of avoiding a load like this, and wondering why so many have done this blindly and apparently not had a problem.

What problems may happen and how would the uninitiated tell? What impedance threshold/frequency range should be considered risky? Are some amplifier types more susceptible?

h2.png

Last edited:
Reactions: 3 users
A capacitor across the output of an amplifier will degrade the phase margin, possibly by enough to turn the amplifier into an oscillator. This will burn out the amplifier and the tweeter.

Amplifiers with high negative feedback are especially vulnerable. Most amplifiers have an output inductor to prevent a capacitive load from degrading the phase margin by too much.

As a hobbyist amplifier designer, I feel that a speaker's impedance should never drop below 4 ohms at any frequency. Lower impedances will not be handled well, especially if the load is reactive (feeding the amplifier's energy back into the amplifier).
Ed

Reactions: 1 user
The issue is easy to explain: in an amplifier with NFB, as the frequency increases, the open loop gain decreases. Thus the closed loop internal resistance looking back from the load, increases. Just as an inductor does. Ergo, with a range of certain capacitive loads; the amp may turn into an oscillator. If the output stage can't support the power at the frequency of oscillation, simply it explodes.

An electromagnetic speaker's voice coil has enough DC resistance to avoid problems. The designer needs to avoid introducing a low-impedance path in the crossover (the 330nF capacitor in post #1).

Electrostatic speakers are capacitors and need an amplifier designed to drive a capacitor. This is when the output inductor becomes mandatory.