Powered bookshelfs / monitor

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

Im totally new to building speakers. My plan is to build an powered bookshelf speaker.
Are there any plans here or on the internet? I've tested powered speakers with a nice sound but bad build quality. So i can think it can be only better.
But becouse im new to this i want to start with a proven design and sound quality.

No one? Or can i just a proven design and make it a active/powered speaker?
Yes. There are some two way analogue active crossovers available, at reasonable cost, and with RC inserts that allow for changes to Xover frequency. There will be some who will come up with all sorts of (spurious) reasons why not, but I've done it successfully.
Get good quality drivers and it is hard to go too far wrong.

I am a real fan of the DEXQ units for making your own speakers and building a 2 way with sub's in support works a treat ! And if you get stuck you can always get a paid remote session to get it sorted. I would start with a proven box design for sure as you are a beginner , depending on your woodworking skills get a pre made box or the front baffle cutouts done . Obviously DEXQ isn't bargain basement but the results are impressive
if you were located in Europe the active kits from the Austrian Scan Speak distributor are the ones to go for if you want quality Scan-Speak
If you're just building a cheap speaker then I doubt you will make something better than some of these new active units especially as a beginner eg AE 1 etc