Phase plug seems to make a new BSC necessary.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.

G

Joined 2002
I have been using the same BR cabinets loaded with FE206s for a few years now. I got some custom bronze phase plugs made and installed them. The sound was changed to such a degree that the BSCs that I had been using no longer worked well. I now just listen without any BSC at all but I think I need a little bit taken out of the lower mids. I am about to install some Fostex FT17Hs with some Lpads so maybe I should wait on the BSCs huh?

My experience with phase plugs in FEx07E drivers is that the plugs creat a hole in the frequency response in the 5-6kHz range. The effect is to reduce sibilance, particularly in female voice, giving a somewhat more relaxed sound. I am looking at a pair of FE167E's with Planet10 plugs in them right now, and they sound very good indeed.

I have played with FE206E's in a 35 l BR and I find that they need a lot more help than just a BSC to make them listenable, like at least 4 ohms of series resistance and a zobel. No phase plug is going to replace the BSC! But then, I generally use a T-amp. If you are using a high-Z SET or a transconductance amp, the rules change.

Still, I would think that your 206's sound pretty bright.

Bob

G

Joined 2002
Bob Brines said:
My experience with phase plugs in FEx07E drivers is that the plugs creat a hole in the frequency response in the 5-6kHz range. The effect is to reduce sibilance, particularly in female voice, giving a somewhat more relaxed sound. I am looking at a pair of FE167E's with Planet10 plugs in them right now, and they sound very good indeed.