Overheating and voltage issues

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone:

Electronics newbie here, with soldering skills, and some ability to use a meter. Assume nothing more in terms of knowledge. This stuff confuses the daylights out of me, so please be patient.

I finished soldering four Chipamp.com LM3886 amp boards and one pair of same company's PSU boards.

A friend helped me test three of the four amp boards and one of the PSU boards with a True RMS meter. Something is very wrong.

Transformer used: 300VA 18.00V dual secondary toroidal.
PSU board A: measured approx. 27V DC stable on both rails (under no load). OK, not too bad.

It appears that when the circuit is turned off then on again, we blew fuses.

First two amp boards (I soldered)
Amp board 1. Output 2V AC with no input.
Amp board 2. Output 5V AC with no input. Sometimes peaked as high as 16V AC with no load.

Frequency checks on amp board (2.) were all over the place.

Connecting either amp board to a speaker resulted in a bad hum which sounded like AC. However, the metered frequency was all over the place.

Amp board 2. heatsink got quite hot. It was only on for about 30 seconds, but took about 15 minutes to cool down.

Amp board 3. (soldered by someone else.) It seemed to display voltage measurement problems similar to the other two, but the heatsink remained cool. It also showed hum on the output. Third power on for that board blew a 2A fuse.

Scoping is not practical at the moment due to heat concerns after only a few seconds.

My friend also has only an analog scope, not one with storage.

Finally, both amp boards 1. and 2. have coaxial input wires, as recommended to me by people here. Amp board 3. has only single conductor wires for input.

Earlier posts I made told the story of how I started out with a solder process that didn't work right. Lead-free solder was just not