New 3 Way project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone, I am new in this forum, and I really need advices for my project ...
Actually, I am in Tunisia, we don't have any any raw speakers here appart from pro audio like Celestion, Dynacord, and so on, not really suitable for my usage here, so I ll need to ask one of my freinds to buy some drivers for me from France, Germany, however, this mean that I will have to go blind.
I am reading for about a mounth many forums (specially here) for how to do it, what drivers etc etc, now I decided to go next step and buy some drivers.
I want to go with MTMWW design here is my selection (for now, budget wise/ weight wise) :
tweeters : Vifa XT25TG30
mid-ranges : Tang Band W3-871B or Tang Band W4-1052SDF
woofer : Tang Band W6-1139SIF

Now, I have some scientific background but I am in computer sciences so it will cost me more efforts to really study all electric interractions/crossovering etc etc, so I want to ask your opinion for this selection already, regarding frequecies responses, drivers sensitivity/coherence .... etc

what I am planing to do is :

MTMWW enclosure, the WW compartiment would be a T-Line Design
the crossover would be ouside the enclosure because I am planning to use it with active crossover (but keep the option of passive one)

all opinions, suggestions, ideas, are very welcome :)

Last edited:
I actually think a 3 way is far easier than a two way! :D

But choose easy and flat drivers. SEAS-3-Way-Classic

Particularly a flat midrange. All you are doing is sparing the mid from bottom and top duties. So it works better.

Steen Duelund worked out the mathematical theory. The extent to which Troels got close to the right curve determines success. Actually with a 3 way, you can use shallower LR2 aka 12dB/octave filters and keep distortion low. Less demanding, you see.

Attachments

• Aequal4_Steen_Duelund_filter.JPG