• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

I'd like to make a simple 50 amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I was fortunate to be gifted a pair of globe 50s last christmas.

Now I want to make a simple 50 amp using these tubes, and am aware of the 10K grid resistor issue.

What if I use a 417A with plate choke, cap coupled to the 50 with grid choke?

Will the 417A have enough grunt to drive the 50?

If this will work, how do you compute for the driver parameters when using a plate choke?

I'm no designer so pardon my ignorance. But I can use TubeCAD :)

Konnichiwa,

arnoldc said:
Now I want to make a simple 50 amp using these tubes, and am aware of the 10K grid resistor issue.

Sounds fine. I used very much the same scheme when driving a 300B operated rather a lot like a 50 (350V/60mA), main difference was I used a 437A as Driver, at 170V/12mA, not a 417A.

arnoldc said:

Yes, you will have to operate the valve quite hard, but it will. Use around 2.5V Bias, 170V Anode or around 220R Cathode resistor and 170V on the Anode. Adjust the +B dropper/decoupling resistor to get the anode voltage right. Under those conditions the 417A should be able to swing around 200V Peak-Peak, enough to drive 300B or 50 well past clipping.

arnoldc said:
If this will work, how do you compute for the driver parameters when using a plate choke?

Same way as for resistor load really, except the Choke approximates a near infinite Anode load but with a low DCR.

If you have a 50 operated at 400V/55mA with -70V Bias (read 1K2 Cathode Resistor) and a 3K5 load you should get 3.5 to 4 watt at clipping and you need a +B of 470V plus Output Transformer losses.