DIY Cables – Only controversial snake oil or is there more to it?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All,

I’m new to this forum making my first post. I have been somewhat hesitant because after looking around a little bit at old posts I’m surprised how quickly replies get really rude and nasty. I was hoping to find an audio DIY forum to be very open minded community to new brave ideas and different thinking instead I find a lot of Internet trolls lurking in the shadows screaming not-scientific, snake-oil, and worse.

I have been working as an electronics engineer for almost 40 years and have had my share of “science” during my university education and all my years as an R&D engineer. Science is not an absolute truth, science is constantly challenged, reevaluated and changing. “Science” is normally the best understanding and explanations we have available for the moment. If people aren’t willing to be open to new and different thinking the science will not progress and evolve. When you practice R&D engineering every day for a working life you run into many situations where you can’t explain the results with known knowledge. Sometimes these “mysteries” are explained years later due to advancements in new measuring equipment or gained understanding in complex interactions.

The human hearing is a very complex interaction between the pressure waves reaching our body and the brain’s interpretation of the stimulus. In audio we can’t hear everything we can measure and we can’t measure everything we can hear. I’m convinced that we will find different measuring techniques in the future that will quantify things we can’t today. A wise man said that there are 120 different ways to measure an amplifier but we have only been able to come up with the first 20 so far.