Building an ultimate low power class A amplifier – my way

Joined 2014
Paid Member
IAIMH,
Your fresh build has motivated me to bump up the bias a bit.
After an hour of playing time, checked the voltage at R17 and it’s 0V252, exactly the same as the day the lid was installed 3 months ago. Now both channels are set to 0V300.
The Kill-A-Watt meter was showing 105W now showing 116W from the wall.
👍🏻

Edit:
Temperature increased by 3°C, now sinks are 39°C

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
Joined 2019
Paid Member
I had some time free up. I was listening to the amp in the background most of morning. I also did some quick and dirty measurements. I am still learning how to measure properly, and this was far from ideal. Mainly, I wanted to make sure that it was at the very least built without any major flaw that would show up in measurements, but not through listening.

tl;dr - it all seems just fine to me on both accounts.

Quick Power vs. THD - Both channels behave identically and to expectations for all practical purposes.
Power vs THD.jpg

Representative channel at 1W 4R and 1W 8R - channels behave the same for all practical purposes.
Right Channel FFT 1W 4R.jpg Right Channel FFT 1W 8R.jpg
PSU is clean enough. It's not to the extremes of my "wretched excess" external PSU, but it's quite good and about 1/10th the weight... and it's in the same chassis.

15W 8R and 25W 4R - Practical / Rounded power output limits.
Right Channel FFT 15W 8R.jpg Right Channel FFT 25W 4R.jpg

Clipping behavior into 8R - Nice and even. I could have sworn I did 4R also... but I may have forgotten to save the graph.
Right Channel Sine 15W8 Clipping 8R.jpg

Noise and A-weighted noise. Looks a mess, but it's all below ~95dBV. What really matters is that it's dead quiet...
Right Channel Noise.jpg Right Channel Noise A Weighted.jpg