• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Bleeder Resistor (Need Help)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
With the full potential of the transformer, the LM317 yields 2.69W of heat when the pot turned all the way (3V output).

It yeilds 1.645W of heat under normal conditions (6.3V output / pot at 13%).

Now, I know nothing about thermodynamics but; my heatsink is aluminum and is an L shape that is found here. Also, it is 900mils tall.

I am no expert, but 2W of heat doesn't seem too bad with a heatsink.

I also read in the data sheet that an increase in heat produces less dropout voltage. That is good news!

Ok, I have done extensive design work today. Here is what I have. I managed to fit my EQ circuit on the same board and cut it after. I wouldn't call it cheating.. I'd call it using my resources :)

Unfortunately, I need to purchase this board soon. That means that I need to stop dilly-dallying and pick a design.

I'm pretty sure that I'll be using the full 15V CT design. It seems much safer rather than hoping that the mains doesn't drop too low... and 2W of heat should be fine for my little LM317 strapped to it's cute little heatsink.

A question I'd like to ask is; do heatsinks need to be grounded? If so, I will need to use mica insulators for some of my TO-220 parts. Also, do I need thermal compound?

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Neurochrome.com
Joined 2009
Paid Member
I'm pretty sure that I'll be using the full 15V CT design. It seems much safer rather than hoping that the mains doesn't drop too low...