Audio Nirvana / Common Sense Audio Full Range

Hi Folks,

Ive been playing with the Ideas of building a pair of 12" full-range speakers with Audio Nirvana drivers and plans. I have zero experience with full-range drivers.

I currently run a 25wpc DIY tube amp into a pair of Dalquist DQ18s . My system sounds pretty great at the moment, I just think it can sound even better with a different speaker setup. The full range 12-inch speakers look the way to go if they sound as good as they seem to suggest.

ANyone have any thoughts here or opinions? I'd love to hear.

Thanks

Tim

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
I have heard a number of AN drivers, most of them performed poorly. One of them had potential but the entry price was too high, better drivers can be had cheaper.

My personal opion is that the sweet spot with FR drivers tends to be 4-5”.

They would certainly be different than your Dalquists.

And if you go ahead, keep in mind that David DIcks knows noting of proper box design.

Some people seem to really like theirs.

dave

Asking of one driver to cover 20-20 000 Hz range is a very, very tall order. The smaller the driver the better it covers the high range, the larger the better the bass as a general trend. I have tried fullrange drivers 4" 5" 6.5" 8" and 10". And in my opinion 4" is way to little bass exept for nearfield monitors/computer desk speakers. The 10" I tried was to weak in the high range. My sweet spot was a Philips 6.5 that was to good for such a budget driver. 5" in a small room and 8" for large rooms or really loud music (for full range drivers)

Reactions: 1 user
If you are really concerned about bass, look to a WAW.

dave