An audio amplifier I built doesn' work

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi there,

I came across Mr. Randy Slone's book about high power audio amplifiers and decided to build one my self. I chose the L-Mosfet design that has a 120W capability. I then built it, powered it up and what happened was that the connected speaker started making loude noise as soon as i powered it up, without any inputs whatsoever. I've been reading some threads on this forum which said that one design in his book is not working, but didnt quite catch which one is it. Hopefully not the one I chose. Anyways, if mine is supposed to work it would be helpful to recieve some oppinions on how to deal with my problem.

You should also know that I am a beginner when it comes to audio amplifier design, and in rush to finish this project.

I thank you for all your answers in advance.

Attachments

• 120W HYBRID DESIGN.PNG
    120W HYBRID DESIGN.PNG
    162.8 KB · Views: 645
It is indeed a very complicated amplifier, I chose it for my final asignement in school, the thing is I'm not really sure if the design is working correctly. Has anyone succeeded to get it to work properly?

I definitly choose the correct transistors for the output all the components are correct I checked everything that could be checked and it seems to be okay.

It's too late now for me to change to another one, so I would rather try to solve the problem with this one.

Well the schematics speaks for itself, I have a unregulated PSU +/-60V. I dont know what more could you need. The thing here is that I've read about this design being faulty. Something about the current for the VAS not being defined which burns the darlington transistors.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
The first thing to do is to power the amp via a bulb tester with NO speakers connected. Also apply a shorting link across C16 to force zero bias.