Aluminium loudspeaker enclosure

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all. I am brand new to this forum, so please bear with me. I am also a beginner in the field of loudspeaker design and construction and am looking for help / feedback about ideas I have to design and build my own speakers. I am a Journeyman Machinist, and I understand the qualities and metallurgy regarding aluminium. I would like to incorporate my abilities to construct a loudspeaker enclosure made out of aluminium and educate myself as to how to effectively design a speaker accordingly. I have a general understanding about crossover design and requirements, as well as an appreciation of what has appealed to me over the years with different sounds systems and speaker types. I am looking to design and build a three way loudspeaker utilizing JBL drivers exclusively. Where would a person start when deciding on the size and type of driver for each frequency range and how would I approach the task of building a crossover? Do I design and build an enclosure first, and work from there? I understand this may be a lofty goal and there are a tremendous amount of variables that need to be addressed, however, "you don't know until you ask" has always been one of my philosophies. Any help will be greatly appreciated :)

Where to start

Obtain the parameters of the speaker you wish to use.

Obtain some speaker enclosure software...Boxplot, Woofer Box and Circuit Designer 5.xls are a couple that come to mind...there are others.

Use the SW until you are comfortable with it...trying other speakers as well.

Enjoy the journey.

:)

Hi KLS,

You are looking at a lot of work, in multiple different dimensions. I'd suggest you tackle one or the other first. You don't become a doctor by studying every subject, the same is true for speaker building.