About circuit design optimization _ a general question

Joined 2009
Paid Member
Good morning to Everyone
I immediately apologize for a reasoning that probably will sound inconclusive
I recently discovered the LTSpice program but I couldn't get decent THD vsHz graphs
With the very kind and precious help of Mr Mooly who provided me with the most appropriate settings I began to see some THD graphs and I fell in love with them
I started playing with voltages and values and types of transistors in the most banal circuits in order to reach a lower THD and I saw that the result changes considerably from total non-functioning to rather interesting results.
Now the question that's on my mind.
Looking at the most popular discussions here in the forum I think I'm quite isolated in my curiosity to see the limits of simpler circuits (i.e. low parts count)
I guess that simpler topologies must have intrinsic limits and this makes them not interesting for who wants to reach the very best measurements.
But what are their real limits?
I mean there are a lot of variables already in a simple circuit from the type of parts and values and supply voltages etc.
If optimizing a simple circuit already appears so challenging and demanding what would be optimizing a very complex one (i.e. with many many parts)?
I have seen a discrete opamp with 80 passive and active parts o_O
The number of variables increases dramatically at a level that is pratically impossible to manage.
I have the feeling that people are more challenged about doing something complex than getting the most out of something simple.
like those chefs who don't care about the quality of the raw materials but add tons of different sauces to their recipes that only confuse the sense of taste
Maybe it's my impression
On another hand I was also struck by a review of a preamp some time ago
The reviewer, clearly an electronics expert, believed the circuit quite a bit. In fact, he saw some even trivial flaws in it