F5 Turbo Builders Thread

That is very cool, laverda!! :)

I'm new to this concept (using copper strips) so perhaps you can explain it to me:

Q1: I assume the copper strips are connecting a bank of caps? 12 caps in each bank?

Yes...

Q2: How did you decide the copper thickness?

3mm thick is more than adequate (which is what I used) This was a design criteria, only the two caps each end of each bank have fixing clamps. The caps in the middle are held in place by just the copper.

Q3: How do you stop the copper tarnishing? Spray with a clear coat?

I don't care if it tarnishes, it has not been sprayed with anything, its just newish.

Q4: The caps have screw connectors? What make caps are these and where do you buy them from?

They are Felsic caps purchased from a distributor here in the UK (my biggest single expense)

Q5: What gauge wire do you use to connect the copper strips to where the DC rails connect to?

Equipment wire 32/02, nothing special. That's for 32v rails.

Q6: Is that a complete amp ... or just the PSU?

MMmmm Complete...2 channel amp...

Q7: If it's the complete (stereo - which you are going to split into monos) amp ... where are the heatsinks for the MOSFETs?

See photos....

Thanks,
Andy

Andy, maybe do some more homework.

More homework! :)

Can someone please confirm that I have my thoughts right about the attached pic. I want to build the F5-T v2:

1. For an F5-T v2, there are 2x O/P PCBs per channel. One PCB is for 2x N-channel MOSFETs ... the other is for 2x P-channel MOSFETs?

2. Each O/P PCB has its own PS PCB?

3. Also there is a Gain Stage PCB (for each channel) which feeds both O/P PCBs?

Thanks,
Andy

Attachments

• PASS F5T PCB Layout.jpg
    PASS F5T PCB Layout.jpg
    915.5 KB · Views: 283
Ummm ... I'm doing my homework (before I build). :)

But thank you for answering my Qs before your snide remark.

Andy