Linn LP12 first mod? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Analogue Source

Analogue Source Turntables, Tonearms, Cartridges, Phono Stages, Tuners, Tape Recorders, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th March 2004, 03:37 PM   #1
Fragen is offline Fragen  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default Linn LP12 first mod?

Hi,
This is my first post to this top forum but Ive been hanging around reading other posts for a couple of months. Nice bank of information you guys have built up.

Anyway, I have read that Linn Sondek LP12's are overpriced and under-engineered? and not worth getting, however I picked my one up today from the side of the road (Hard-rubbish day in my great city where they actually throw out $1000+ turntables) and so I couldn't care less. Im pleased with it already.

Question is, anyone know a good place to get it serviced in Perth, Western Australia? I switched it on and the motor runs smooth, however the belt wont stay on and so I think it just needs a new belt and a service.

Also, any ideas for the first most necesarry mod? cables look a bit tatty or should I jump right in with major stuff?

(In case your wondering, I also picked up some OK speakers and a mint-ish Sony CD player, yamaha amp and a jarrah cofee table, just stuff I've spotted driving to school this week! I saw an old tube TV today but by the time I got back someone had already stripped it for parts.)

Cheers
Dan
Old 16th March 2004, 07:58 PM   #2
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

The belt won't stay on due to some form of misalignment.

You don't say what arm is fitted, or cartridge, or power supply.

Generally the better the turntable and the the more tweaking
the manafacturer has done, the less likely it is that "mods" will
improve matters.

You need to learn how to set it up properly etc. before you mod it.