Visaton al170 with vifa xt25BG (help please)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Total Beginner here (still).

I used boxsim and winisd and created a pair of floorstanders 2-way with following specs:
woofer: visaton al170
tweeter: vifa xt25bg
dimensions: 100cm x 30cm x 20cm, 18mm mdf, braced, internal volume of 41.727 L
port size: 16.4cm x 1 cm x 12.4 cm

I added my boxsim files, a picture from the crossover and from the speakers (not in its listening position). Amps used
marantz nr 1603 (2x50w)
Lab Gruppen 1000 (2x 350w)
Source: Pro-ject Debut Carbon Esprit

When finally firing up these babies I could have cried:
They sounded muffled: a wooly sound, as if somebody put some blankets over them. I also had the impression it started ok but they got 'woolier' especially compared to what i had before (own design, same dimensions visaton al170 with dsm25 ffl).
I also had the impression they sounded better with the more powerfull amp.
They also are not very sensitive, I have to crank up the amp (first one) quite hard.

Can anybody help me please? Some ideas?
I know I'm not an expert, but I 'm here to learn.

Thanks already, I hope one day I'll be experienced enough to help others on this forum.

Attachments

• al170 +  xtbg.jpg
    al170 + xtbg.jpg
    191.5 KB · Views: 346
  • crossover.png
    crossover.png
    11.9 KB · Views: 338
  • al170 + xt25bg.zip
    14.8 KB · Views: 54
xt25bg seems to lack frequency response and phase data in your simulation. It is therefore simulated which might give you different result. See attached screenshot.

Other possibility is that simulation overestimates baffle step. Reducing tweeter attenuation will probably help.

Attachments

• frd.jpg
    frd.jpg
    32.5 KB · Views: 316
Shirokuma, for starters flip the polarity on either tweeter or woofer, both enclosures, then report back what happened.