• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

6GK5 Musical Machine Help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,

I'm planing on building the 2007, tube rectified, version of the Musical Machine and I am having a little bit of trouble understanding part of the power supply side of the schematics. I'm pretty new to reading circuit diagrams so if I miss anything silly I'm sorry, still getting the hang of things.

Basically my problem is, that after I got everything straight in my head I actually decided to read the title and saw that the power supply seems to be just for one channel. So my question is: do I duplicate parts of the power supply circuit? The title seems to suggest that everything but the T3 circuit needs to be duplicated for a stereo amp. However looking at images of already built amps makes me think that's not true.

Otherwise I am pretty confident on how this amp goes together, but I'd appreciate any other general advice on parts or how to construct this amp. I'll do some reading around here anyhow and I also have the WayBack Machine to look at Poindexter's old website for parts advice and whatnot.

I'd appreciate any help greatly.

Cheers.

I've attached a copy of the plans I am using.

Attachments

• 6V6.png
    6V6.png
    49.9 KB · Views: 545
Interesting you should post this just now as I'm collecting the parts to build an amp to this very schematic. To answer your question, both channels do indeed share a common power supply.** The line at the top of the schematic confused me also, but a look at some shots of the interior confirmed just the one supply.