• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Tesla E83CC - Have done research & still having trouble spotting fakes from real

Hi all, I'm a novice tube addict, and I've been scratching my head for weeks trying to decipher real Tesla ECC83s from the fakes/relabelled ones. I have read many threads and looked at all the pics I could find. I could use some expert help, as despite my reading up on it, I'm having a heck of a time spotting the genuine goods from the imitations. I also hope this post helps other newbies like me who are having the same difficulty.

Things I've picked up so far: (please let me know if any/all of it is wrong):
1- Real Tesla E83CCs have flatter tops (straighter shoulders if you will), while relabelled JJs (the most common fake) has curved sloped-down shoulders
2- The real getters should be a darker color similar to the Telefunken ECC803s, while many imitations will have lighter-colored getters
3- Real Tesla E83CCs will only have short plates (some fakes do - other fakes have long plates) Long plate Teslas may be real but would be a ECC803s, which, while excellent, is not the same tube.
4- Real Tesla E83CCs will have a frame grid design. Some/most fakes will not.
5- (WRONG - no shielding plate at all on E83CCs) Real Tesla E83CCs will have a black-coated nickel shielding plate between the triodes, JJs will have uncoated gray nickel instead
6- The fakes can be so close in appearance and are so prevalent that even an honest/reputable seller may be fooled.