• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

SE 811 amp schematic...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is the 811A SE amplifier I built some 4 years ago. Max. power output is some 15 W and the linearity is quite good even without any GNFB.

This looks simpler then other schematics I've looked at,,, The 680K pot is the volume control, correct? Any suggested substitutions for 6N1P, I like to use what I have, if possible...
I'm pretty new at this, and appreciate teh input and schematics...

Regards,
John

...The 680K pot is the volume control, correct? Any suggested substitutions for 6N1P...

680k pot is for adjusting the pentode stage to optimum distortion.
It is not very critical at all, but the schematic is from my prototype and I usually have some adjustments that are not actually needed, but usefull when prototyping.

I also used one half of 6N6P as a driver.
I assume 6DJ8 could be one that works, 6BL7 for sure...

Would like to see a few pics of your amp if they are easily linked :)

Regards, KM

I found one:

Edit: A couple more with better resolution:

My output tube was soviet G811.

Attachments

• 811A proto.jpg
    811A proto.jpg
    36.9 KB · Views: 1,055
  • L1000081.JPG
    L1000081.JPG
    363.8 KB · Views: 1,020
  • L1000085.JPG
    L1000085.JPG
    359.9 KB · Views: 1,007
Last edited:
I built one channel of the amp in post 12,,, Its rough, but works pretty well... Voltages are close to specs, and its running on 2 different FTs (AC, for now) so the B+ can be adjusted with a variac, without affecting teh heater V...
Looks promising, so far... DC heater supply is the way to go, tho...
Still trying to learn!!!

Regards,
John

Attachments

• P7170007.jpg