Deep sound, no need for high output

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm moving out soon, and I'm currently building a rather big 12" subwoofer (Dayton Audio RSS315HF-4 12" @115L), but that will not really fit into my small apartment. Also, this subwoofer is heavy overkill for this small room. But I do still want to watch movies and listen to music in the apartment, but I won't be needing the output power. So I was thinking of building another subwoofer, a smaller one at roughly 6-1/2", or maybe 8" (probably ported).

My plan is to tune this very low, just to have the lower extension. This will indeed come at the cost of output power, but I won't be needing that a lot anyways because I have people living 1 wall away, heh. But I'm still relatively new to this part of the audio world, so I'm wondering if this is possible. To make it more difficult: my budget is not very high, at roughly 200$, maybe a bit more if necessary.

My idea is to have a very shallow roll-off so I can EQ that to be a bit flatter if needed, hopefully reaching down to 25 Hz, maybe even deeper if that's possible.

So, is it possible to make a (probably ported) active subwoofer with a 6-1/2" driver, maybe an 8" (a 10" is still possible I guess, but smaller is probably better), reaching down to 25 Hz, or maybe even slightly deeper, within the rough budget of 200$, that is also under 80L? I don't need high output power. And if you have an idea for a driver, please leave that below (probably below ~100$). :eek:

Oh and I don't live in the US so Partsexpress is a no-go for me. :(

6L6

Joined 2010
Paid Member
Any speaker with output reaching down near 25hz will annoy the neighbors regardless of volume because low bass will travel through walls quite easily.

Keep the 12" woofer, turn it waaaaaay down, and live with it until your manager complains and you have to turn it off entirely. :D